FHS athletes honored at WNC Sports Awards

Avatar photo

Dan Finnerty

Franklin High School (FHS) athletes were well represented at the 2024 WNC Sports Awards, May 19, at Omni Grove Park Inn, Asheville. Panthers won team awards and individual awards as well as scholarships. 

Women’s Outdoor Track and Field was honored with the Nat and Carolyn Arthur Division 1 Female Team Olympic Sport category award, while the Men’s Outdoor Track and Field won Rodeway Inn & Suites Division I Male Team Olympic Sport award. Individually, Senior Elijah Cochran won in the Massasoit of North Carolina, Inc. Division I Male Athlete Olympic Sport category.

TORI ENSLEY is now a freshman and starting outfielder for NC State.

Lastly, 2023 graduate Tori Ensley, now a freshman softball player at N.C. State University, won the Lary and Jan Schulhof Division 1 Female Athlete of the Year award.

Scholarship winners included seniors Avery Moffitt, Elijah Cochran, Hope Smith, Aaron Jennings, Laura Holland, and Lydia Holland.

With the FHS Track team in Greensboro for the N.C. 3A State Championships on May 20, some WNC Sports Awards recipients were absent, but were represented by other FHS students. 

FHS’s own annual Sports Awards Banquet is May 23, 6-8 p.m., at the Smoky Mountain Center for the Performing Arts.

Pictured above: Attending the May 19 WNC Sports Awards in Asheville were (L-R): Lydia Holland (tennis/scholarship); Claire Hovis (accepting Women’s Outdoor Track and Field Team of the Year); Avery Moffitt, award finalist and scholarship recipient; FHS Principal Blair King; Elijah Cochran (male Athlete of the Year and scholarship recipient); Braxton Deal, (accepting Men’s Track and Field Team of Year); and Laura Holland (tennis/softball scholarship recipient).