Just the Facts

Chamber hands out annual awards

Avatar photo

(Supplied Content)

The Franklin Chamber of Commerce held its Annual Awards Banquet on Tuesday, Feb. 27, at The Smoky Mountain Center for the Performing Arts. Following a dinner prepared by Smokestack Café, the following awards were presented:

– Sheila Jenkins was honored with the prestigious Citizen of the Year Award. The Award recognizes an individual who significantly contributes to the community and is an inspirational role model. 

THE CITIZEN of the Year Award was presented to Sheila Jenkins (center).
Pictured with Jenkins is Ronnie Beale and Dinah Mashburn.

– Bill Hutson received the Duke Citizenship & Service Award. The award recognizes and rewards leadership and/or involvement in volunteerism and community services. 

BILL HUTSON was awarded the Duke Citizenship & Service Award. Lisa Leatherman with Duke Energy presented the award.

– Pete Penland received the Above and Beyond Award for a lifetime of service to the community. Penland was not present due to health issues.

DR. MATT CORBIN poses with the Chamber’s Above and Beyond Award winner Melvin “Pete” Fenland.

– Gracie Parker received the Youth Citizenship Award. The Award recognizes a youth who has shown a strong interest in serving in their community and volunteering to help others.

N.C. Sen. Kevin Corbin (L) and Macon County Board of Commissioners’ Chair Gary Shields congratulate Youth Citizenship Award winner Gracie Parker.

– Magnolia Mission and Together We Can were named Clubs/ Organizations of the Year. The award is aimed at recognizing the club for its dedication and contribution in the community. 

John Hamlin presented the Organization of the Year Award to Becky Bennett, Julie Adams, and Rachel Marshall for Magnolia Mission and Together We Can.